Mark Rushton Interview – “The Sound of Paintings” – October 2018

The Sound of Paintingsan interview with painter and sound artist Mark Rushton – published October 2018

Mark Rushton ambient electronic music

How have things been lately?

Super busy.  The past two months I’ve been experimenting with different surfaces and frames in order to try to scale up my synthetic paper paintings.

In the August interview I talked about maybe using encaustic boards and building floating frames, but that was not going to work out.  For a while, I was wrapping the synthetic paper over a stretched canvas and then placing that in a frame.  Wrapping is a little different than painting on the synthetic paper and then editing the paper so it’ll fit in a frame.  When a stretched canvas is wrapped, it’s not as taut.  It can be a little billowy.  Sometimes I liked it.  Other times, I didn’t.  I’m going to keep experimenting there.

Eventually, I arrived at securing larger pieces of synthetic paper over stretched canvases, making my paintings, and then removing the synthetic paper, editing, and then placing in a frame.  While the initial creation part is unconventional, the final product is conventional, and I’m happy with it.

Storm on the Prairie (24″ x 36″)

You changed online gallery hosting services again?

Yes, I tried a couple out over the previous few months.  One was tied to my art inventory service.  I kept the art inventory service.  I had issues with the templates of both galleries.  So I figured out how to create a gallery that I liked in WordPress.  Right now, I just have new paintings from the past few months.  I’ll be adding older work over time.

Distant Shadow (18″ x 24″)

And the gallery search?

I’ll talk more after the first week of November.

Country Static (12″ x 12″)

Any new products that you like using?

Yes.  Over the summer, I heard about iToya coming out with a 24″ x 36″ poster binder system.  Pfile was selling it first for $149.  Blick has it.  Other places are selling it online.  I got one to store my larger synthetic paper paintings and it arrived last week.  It’ll hold 10 pages or 20 views.  I can purchase additional binder sleeves for around $75 each.  The portfolio will hold up to 10 sleeves of these binders, so 200 views.  I have other sizes of iToya portfolios and I like them.

Overtaken (18″ x 24″)


Art Gallery

September Fields (24″ x 36″)

My art gallery has been relocated here on the site.  As of October 11, 2018, there are 18 paintings in there – all fairly recent pieces.

I’ll be creating new galleries over time – for new work, old work, and different categories.